Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences

41 nominations encompassing 20 different nationalities are in the running for this Award, the third of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, which are now in their 41st edition


The meeting of the Jury responsible for awarding the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, the third of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on 26th May. The awards will be bestowed this year for the 41st time in their history. Forty-one nominations encompassing twenty different nationalities, have been nominated for this award.

Due to the situation resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Jury meetings are planned to be held via videoconference. The Jury’s acting secretary will be appointed by the Foundation, as established in the Regulations for the Awards. Furthermore, its chairperson will be the same as in the previous edition so as to facilitate the holding of the meeting, as approved by the institution’s Board of Trustees.

As stated in the Regulations, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences shall be aimed at recognizing “creative and/or research work in the field of history, law, linguistics, teaching, political science, psychology, sociology, ethics, philosophy, geography, economics, demography or anthropology, as well as in the disciplines corresponding to each of these fields.”

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolizing the accolade, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of €50,000.

The Jury’s decision will be announced at the end of the meeting that same Wednesday morning/early afternoon via a press release and on the Foundation’s website and social networks. A recording of the reading of the Minutes of the Jury by its chairperson will also be made available to the media via the Virtual Press Room.

Jury composition

The jury will be made up of the following members:

  • Carmen Iglesias Cano, Countess of Gisbert (acting chairperson)
  • Marta Elvira Rojo (acting secretary)
  • Juan Barja de Quiroga Losada
  • Paz Battaner Arias
  • Adela Cortina Orts
  • Teresa Freixes Sanjuán
  • Mauro Guillén Rodríguez
  • Silvia Iranzo Gutiérrez
  • Emilio Lamo de Espinosa Michels de Champourcin
  • Óscar Loureda Lamas
  • Manuel Menéndez Menéndez
  • Enrique Moradiellos García
  • Montserrat Moreno Marimón
  • Emilio Ontiveros Baeza
  • Jaime Pérez Renovales
  • Rafael Puyol Antolín
  • Isaac Querub Caro
  • Myriam Seco Álvarez
  • Fernando Vallespín Oña

Information of interest



Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades