Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Juan Rulfo

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature 1983

The members of the Jury for the 1983 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters, Jesús Aguirre, Duke of Alba, Emilio Alarcos Llorach, Francisco Ayala, Juan Benet, Miguel Delibes, Gonzalo Torrente Ballester and Alonso Zamora Vicente, gathered in Oviedo on the 16th and 17th of June, 1983, under the presidency of Pedro Laín Entralgo and with Román Suárez Blanco acting as secretary, have agreed to grant this award to the Mexican writer Juan Rulfo, in recognition of the great aesthetic quality, depth of invention, aptness and expressive novelty, as well as his decisive influence on subsequent narrative in his country and the outstanding place he occupies in the world of Spanish literature as a whole.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades